Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 2nd, 2009

There has been a lot of talk lately regarding the soon-to-be-released autobiography of tennis superstar Andre Agassi, Open.

I’m not a big fan of tennis, but I do recall Agassi and his mane of hair flying around the court and winning tournaments, and all of the recent media hysteria concerning “shocking revelations” piqued my interest. So, when I had the opportunity to read a pre-release review of the book, I couldn’t resist. (Sadly, I have since come to learn that the hair was fake and some of Agassi’s wins were laced with illegal substances.)

The article contained some interesting quotes, and one comment which I found quite thought-provoking:

“Just like Tennis. The same court on which you suffer your bloodiest defeat can become the scene of your sweetest triumph.”

I started thinking about all the encounters in my life where I have experienced defeat.  Although I earnestly gave my best effort, my best just wasn’t enough to prevail over the opponent. Things didn’t turn out as I had hoped. Circumstances conspired against me.

During times like those, it is so easy to run away and hide in fear, or ignore the loss and pretend it never happened. But if you depend on cowardice or make-believe to deal with disappointment, watch out! Unresolved failure has a way of haunting you until you defeat it.

Winners don’t give up, throw in the towel, or hide in fear. They don’t cry in the corner, wring their hands in despair, or allow panic to paralyze them.

Those who eventually triumph study the confrontation, learn from their participation, and use that knowledge to return to the ring with greater knowledge, confidence, and experience. “If you learn from defeat, you haven’t really lost” [Zig Ziglar].

Don’t let your bloodiest defeat stop you in your tracks.  Get up. Gather your courage. Fight. Fight again. Fight until it becomes your sweetest triumph.

Failure should be our teacher, not our undertaker.

Failure is delay, not defeat.

It is a temporary detour, not a dead end.

Failure is something we can avoid only by saying nothing
doing nothing, and being nothing.
~ Dennis Waitley

“In life, it doesn’t matter if you get knocked down, it’s if you get back up that matters” [Unknown]. Keep fighting.  It’s not over until you win . . . or you quit.

Whatever you are, be a good one,

Deanna

Read Full Post »